Sunday, August 16, 2009

Christopher - Christopher (1969)

Christopher first came together in 1968 out of Houston Texas area and were originally known as United Gas. Metromedia offered them a 2 year contract and suggested to change their band name because of similarity to Pacific Gas and Electric. After much thought, they came up with "Christopher", after Saint Christopher who was stripped of his sainthood. Their music was a bit heavy psych and the guitars sound so cool. Try this cd and you'll not be disappointed.

Track Listing...
1. Dark Road
2. Magic Cycles
3. Wilbur Lite
4. In Your Time
5. Beautiful Lady
6. Lies
7. Disasters
8. The Wind
9. Queen Mary
10. Burns Decision

Short Cross - Arising (1970)

I just listened to the album Arising by Short Cross the other day. I'm really impressed by this boogie rock outfit, considering that these guys were only in their teens when they recorded this album. It was a low budget recording from a small label, but these guys really rocked! Some of the tracks that stand out are, Nothin' but a woman, Wastin' Time, Suicide Blues, Just don't care, On my own, Till we reach the sun, That's her train and Before it rains. I really recommend this album for all 70's boogie rock fans. It's truly a rare gem.

Track Listing...
1. Nothin' But a Woman
2. Wastin' Time
3. Suicide Blues
4. Just Don't Care
5. On My Own
6. Till We Reach the Sun
7. Ellen
8. Hobo Love Song
9. On My Own [Stereo Mix]
10. Marching off to War [Stereo Mix]
11. That's Her Train [#]
12. Bomb [Unfinished Demo]
13. Before It Rains [Unfinished Demo]